House of a Thousand Dreams

I grew up in a small town on my grandfather’s cattle ranch.  I did love it, but it was all I knew, so I don’t think I really realized what I had: time, space, fresh air, ability to hear myself think, a front row seat to creation.

When I was 13, my family moved to ‘town.’  It was still a small town and I was closer to school and closer to my friends, so I loved it, too. Plus, I was a teenage girl with my own bathroom. What else mattered? 😉

Chris grew up in a small town, too.  He loved it.

When we got married, we moved into an apartment in a college town. We loved being newlyweds. I think we could’ve lived in a cardboard box that first year and loved it.

When Chris got a job, we moved into an apartment in a not-so-small college town.  And here we are.  We are thankful, but we don’t love it.  Over the last couple of years, the Lord has really given us a passion for getting back to the basics.  Learning how to be self-sustaining (in a temporal sense; He is our ultimate Sustainer).  Gardening.  Raising animals for food.  Learning how to sew, how to cook using traditional methods, preserving, etc.  This can all be done to a degree in an apartment, but not fully.

So we’ve prayed.  We’ve asked for a little more space.  An opportunity to get out of the city.

I’ll be honest.  I didn’t expect a “yes” so soon.

Silly me.

He’s a big God.  He’s a gracious God.

“He who did not spare his own Son but gave him up for us all, how will he not also with him graciously give us all things?”  Romans 8:32

So, we’re moving…

photo 2

…to our house of a thousand dreams.

photo 1

The boy says, “My daddy’s a strong man
My momma, she loves him
And they love my brother and sister and me
Sometimes at night we lay out in the backyard
And take turns wishing on the first star we see”

“And the crickets always sing outside the windows
And I love to feel the wind blow through the screen
And I sure hope that we can live forever
In this house of a thousand dreams”

from House of a Thousand Dreams, performed by Martina McBride, written by Ilya Toshinsky, Billy Montana, Tammy Wagoner


One thought on “House of a Thousand Dreams

Leave a Reply

