Mother’s Day

This time last year I wrote a blog post in the middle of the night about how I couldn’t sleep because it was my first Mother’s Day and it felt a little bit like Christmas.

I think baby girl knew that today was Mother’s Day, because even though she’s been sleeping through the night for a couple of months now, she didn’t last night.  I held her and rocked her and rubbed her sweet little head of just-barely-there hair.

DSC_0459 DSC_0467

I’m thankful for these memories.  And days like today to remember why I do what I do and that the laundry and the dishes and the unpainted walls and the dirty floors will not be what defines me as a mother.  Unless I let it.

DSC_0466 DSC_0473

Happy Mother’s Day to you, mamas.  You are doing the most important thing in the world.  Love those babies.  Teach them about Jesus.  He’s our only Hope.

Behold, children are a heritage from the Lord,
    the fruit of the womb a reward.
Like arrows in the hand of a warrior
    are the children of one’s youth.
Blessed is the man
    who fills his quiver with them!
He shall not be put to shame
    when he speaks with his enemies in the gate.

Psalm 127:3-5

DSC_0440


Leave a Reply

