Guest Post: Catalyst

If there is one word to describe my wife’s influence on my life, it would be “catalyst.” Anna is the most passionate person I know. She has an unwavering resolve to know truth and to do what is right in the eyes of the Lord. She is constantly weighing “what is” against what Scripture says “should be.” I love this about her.

Proverbs 31:11-12 says,

“The heart of her husband trusts her and he will have no lack of gain. She does him good, and not harm, all the days of her life.”

What an incredible blessing it is to trust your wife and know that she is truly seeking God in every aspect of life. Anna is my sounding board. I know that I can share anything with her – life’s struggles, triumphs, difficult questions, or even personal burdens – and she will always point me to the truth of Scripture. She is not afraid to speak truth into my life even when I don’t want to hear it. In our relationship we rarely brush problems under the rug. We deal with them. This is in large part due to Anna’s commitment to truth and real, genuine, God-honoring relationship. Despite what the world says, this does me good, not harm. In a world full of peace-keeping, shallow-thinking girls who want to look exactly like their “friend” on social media, it is refreshing to have a peace-making, critically-thinking woman whose aim is to look like Jesus no matter what the world tells her she should look like.

The God-given gift of marriage is a humbling experience. It has revealed my selfishness, my weaknesses, and my need for accountability through Christ-centered relationship. Anna has challenged me in countless ways. Her passion has sparked boldness in my life that I didn’t know was in me. Her fervor for truth has ignited in me a yearning for Godly wisdom and knowledge. Her principled thought has forced me to think about the reasons behind the decisions that I make. The seriousness with which she takes her job as a mother and the way she selflessly and tirelessly serves our children inspires me to be the father that God has called me to be. Her heart for those who don’t know Jesus is a frequent reminder of the depravity of sin, our need for a Savior, and the call for Christ-followers to be a light in a dark world.

That God would choose to use my beautiful, loving, and devoted wife to sharpen my faith and point me to Jesus is nothing short of a blessing. I can’t imagine my life without her. I am so thankful for my bride.

Happy 31st Birthday, my love!

0294

One thought on “Guest Post: Catalyst

  1. Chris, this is such a wonderful, blessed tribute to your Anna. God prepares our mates for us and so blessed that you two waited for ‘the right one’. Love to all of you. HAPPY BIRTHDAY, SWEET ANNA. You have always been very special to us.

Leave a comment